Directors and Advisors

The CFK US Board meets with some special guests.

CFK Board of Directors (US)

Rye Barcott, Treasurer
Co-founder, Carolina for Kibera; Co-founder, Double Time Capital

Brett Bullington
Angel Investor and Advisor to Start-ups; Technology Entrepreneur

Dr. Jennifer Coffman, Chair
Associate Executive Director, Office of International Programs, James Madison University

Francis Kibet
Manager, IT Audit Services, Duke Energy Corporation

Beth-Ann Kutchma, Secretary
Senior Program Officer, Center for Global Initiatives, UNC-Chapel Hill; Producer, Without a Fight

Dr. Kathleen McGinn
Cahners-Rabb Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School, Harvard University

Dr. James Peacock
[Honorary Member] Kenan Professor of Anthropology, UNC-Chapel Hill

Dr. Ron Strauss, Vice Chair
Executive Vice Provost and Chief International Officer, UNC-Chapel Hill

CFK Board of Trustees (Kenya)

Dr. Karen Austrian
Associate – Poverty, Gender and Youth Program, Population Council

George Kuria, Treasurer
Chief Executive, Gateway Insurance Company Ltd.

David Mshila, Chair
Freelance Consultant, Human Settlement Services

Hillary Okhidi Omala, Secretary
Executive Director, Kakenya Center for Excellence

CFK Advisory Board

Dr. David Callaway
Director, Operational & Disaster Medicine, Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC

Sandra Canfield
International and Community Development Consultant

Lorraine Elliot
Senior Transaction Specialist, Bank of America

Irene Federwisch
Former Program Coordinator, German Foundation for International Development

David Gergen, Esq
Former Presidential Advisor, and Director, Harvard Center for Public Leadership

Timothy Glassco, Esq.
Principal, Podesta Group

Dr. Christopher Howard
President, Hampden-Sydney College

Dr. Richard Kohn
Professor of History, UNC-Chapel Hill

Ben Mshila
Human Resources Manager, Divi Carina Bay Casino, US Virgin Islands

Rajeev Narayan, Esq.
Associate Director, Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science, North Carolina State University

Dr. Joseph Nye
University Distinguished Service Professor and former Dean, Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government

Dr. Nicolas Retsinas
Director, Joint Center for Housing Studies, Harvard University

Dr. Richard Richardson
Former Provost, University of North Carolina

Ambassador Brenda Schoonover
Retired, U.S. Foreign Service

George Schutzer, Esq.
Partner, Patton Boggs LLP

Dr. Donna Schwartz-Barcott
Graduate Director, College of Nursing, University of Rhode Island

Dr. Niklaus Steiner
Director, Center for Global Initiatives, UNC-Chapel Hill

Shawn Turner, Esq.
Partner, Holland & Knight LLP